Chloé Zhao’s “The Rider” Named Best Picture by National Society of Film Critics

"The Rider" Score Composer Nathan Halpern
The Rider” has been named Best Picture by the National Society of Film Critics, a huge shock as Chloé Zhao’s groundbreaking western hadn't won much up until today, despite glowing reviews back in May when the film was released. The only other win it had to shout about was a Best Feature prize at the Gotham Independent Film Awards.
Whereas, this past year's most awarded film, Alfonso Cuaron's “Roma,” had to settle with only winning Best Foreign-Language Film, Best Director, and Best Cinematography *Sad face emoji* Best Actress went to “The Favourite” star Olivia Colman, Best Actor to Ethan Hawke of “First Reformed,” “If Beale Street Could Talk’s” Regina King won Supporting Actress, and Supporting Actor went to Steven Yeun of “Burning.” 

Best Foreign Language Film

“Roma”, Runners-Up: “Cold War,” “Burning,” “Shoplifters”

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón (“Roma”), Runners-Up: Lee Chang-Dong (“Burning”), Chloé Zhao (“The Rider”)
Best Picture
“The Rider”, Runners-Up: “Roma,” “Burning”
Best Actress
Olivia Colman (“The Favourite”), Runners-Up: Regina Hall (“Support the Girls”), Melissa McCarthy (“Can You Ever Forgive Me?”
Best Supporting Actress
Regina King (“If Beale Street Could Talk”), Runners-Up: Elizabeth Debicki (“Widows”), Emma Stone (“The Favourite”)
Best Actor
Ethan Hawke (“First Reformed”), Runners-Up: Willem Dafoe (“At Eternity’s Gate”), Ben Foster (“Leave No Trace”), John C. Reilly (“The Sisters Brothers” and “Stan & Ollie”)
Best Supporting Actor
Steven Yeun (“Burning”), Runners-Up: Richard E. Grant (“Can You Ever Forgive Me?”), Brian Tyree Henry (“If Beale Street Could Talk,” “Widows,” “Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse”)
Best Cinematography
Alfonso Cuarón (“Roma”), Runners-Up: James Laxton (“If Beale Street Could Talk”), Lukasz Zal (“Cold War”)
Best Screenplay
Armando Iannucci, David Schneider and Ian Martin (“The Death of Stalin”), Runners-Up: Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (“Can You Ever Forgive Me?”), Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (“The Favourite”)