ASC Cinematography Nominations for ‘Roma’ ‘A Star is Born,’ ‘First Man,’ ‘The Favourite’ and ‘Cold War'

(L to R) Marco Graf as Pepe, Daniela Demesa as Sofi, Yalitza Aparicio as Cleo, Marina De Tavira as Sofia, Diego Cortina Autrey as Toño, Carlos Peralta Jacobson as Paco in Roma, written and directed by Alfonso Cuarón. Photo by Carlos Somonte
I always look forward to the ASC cinematography nominations because, much like any legitimate cinephile, why wouldn't I? This marks the 100th year anniversary of the prestigious group, which decided to nominate two foreign-language films this year. 

Alfonso Cuarón (“Roma”), Matthew Libatique (“A Star is Born”), Robbie Ryan (“The Favourite”), Linus Sandgren (“First Man”), and Łukasz Żal (“Cold War”) will compete in the 33rd annual ASC Awards. (The ceremony is February 9th  at the Ray Dolby Ballroom in Hollywood).

I have no problem with any of these, even Sandgren's work for a film that I wasn't too taken by. However, some notable snubs include James Baxton's great work in "If Beale Street Can Talk" and the always-reliable Bruno Delbonel for Joel and Ethan Coens' "The Ballad of Buster Scruggs."