DGA Nominees: Gerwig, Peele, McDonagh, Del Toro, Nolan

I predicted it: “Get Out” director Jordan Peele and “Lady Bird” helmer Greta Gerwig made the cut for the Directors Guild of America award. They were joined by Martin McDonagh (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”), Guillermo del Toro (“The Shape of Water”) and Christopher Nolan (“Dunkirk”).
Gerwig and, let's face it, her historic nod, makes her only the 7th woman to garner a nomination with the DGA. The others: Kathryn Bigelow, Sofia Coppola, Jane Campion, Barbara Streisand, Randa Haines and Lina Wertmuller.
As for Peele, he's only the fourth African American director to receive the honor, after Lee Daniels, Steve McQueen, and Barry Jenkins.
Want snubs? “Call Me By Your Name” director Luca Guadagnino, “The Florida Project” auteur Sean Baker, Dee Rees for "Mudbound," Joe Wright with the"Darkest Hour," but, in terms of shock omission nothing beats Patty Jenkins for "Wonder Woman" and Steven Spielberg for “The Post”.
The Shape of Water
(Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Mr. del Toro’s Directorial Team:
  • Unit Production Manager: J. Miles Dale
  • Production Manager: Dennis Chapman
  • First Assistant Director: Pierre Henry
  • Second Assistant Director: Tyler Delben
This is Mr. del Toro’s first DGA Award nomination
Ms. Gerwig’s Directorial Team:
  • Unit Production Managers: Lila Yacoub, Danielle Blumstein, Jamin O’Brien (New York Crew)
  • First Assistant Directors: Jonas Spaccarotelli, Cedric Vara (New York Crew)
  • Second Assistant Director: Brendan Lee, Dana Zolli (New York Crew)
  • Second Second Assistant Directors: Lillian Awa, Teri Barber
This is Ms. Gerwig’s first DGA Award nomination.
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
(Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Mr. McDonagh’s Directorial Team:
  • Unit Production Manager: Bergen Swanson
  • Assistant Unit Production Manager: Peggy Robinson
  • First Assistant Director: Peter Kohn
  • Second Assistant Director: Paula Case
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Spencer Taylor
This is Mr. McDonagh’s first DGA Award nomination.
CHRISTOPHER NOLANDunkirk(Warner Bros.)
Mr. Nolan’s Directorial Team:
  • Unit Production Managers: David Witz, Christine Raspillere (France Unit), Chris Brock (UK Unit), Nicky Tüske (Netherlands Unit)
  • First Assistant Directors: Nilo Otero, William Pruss (France Unit), Willem Quarles van Ufford (Netherlands Unit)
  • Second Assistant Director: Eric Lasko, Nicolas Baldino (France Unit), Alexis Chelli (France Unit), Clément Comet (France Unit)
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Alina Gatti
This is Mr. Nolan’s fourth DGA Feature Film Award nomination. He was previously nominated for Inception in 2010, for The Dark Knight in 2008, and for Memento in 2001.
Get Out
(Universal Pictures)
Mr. Peele’s Directorial Team:
  • Unit Production Managers: Marcei A. Brown, Rick A. Osako (Fairhope Unit)
  • First Assistant Director: Gerard DiNardi
  • Second Assistant Directors: Ram Paul Silbey, Marc Newland (Fairhope Unit), Jack McKenna (New York Unit)
  • Second Second Assistant Director: Maggie Ballard
  • Location Manager: Kurt Enger (New York Unit)
This is one of two DGA Award nominations this year for Mr. Peele. He is also nominated in the First-Time Feature Film category for Get Out.