Cannes Jury Announced: Chastain, Will Smith, Sorrentino, Ade, Park Chan-Wook, Agnes Jaoui and more

You know this is going to be an actual good jury when you see Almodovar, Chastain, Ade, Park and Sorrentino. Cannes really wanted to make amends after their last few lackluster Palme choices. I mean, "I, Daniel Blake"? Really? Especially when you had an incredible competition which included "Patterson," "Toni Erdmann," "Elle," Personal Shopper," "American Honey," "The Handmaiden," "The Salesman." Not just that, the George Miller-led Jury gave their consolation prize to Xavier Dolan's misbegotten "It's Only the End of the World"? What were they smoking last year at the croisette air? This year's jury is composed of seasoned veterans, but, more importantly, artists with top-notch artistic credibility. Well, Will Smith excepted ... Although I've been a fan of his over the years, I can see him more as an "I, Daniel Blake" kind of guy than a "Toni Erdmann" or "Elle" fantatic. We will, hopefully, be on track this year with credible winners. I will be there covering the fest starting May 16th.

Pedro Almodóvar – President
(Director, Writer, Producer – Spain)

Maren Ade
(Director, Screenwriter, Producer – Germany)

Jessica Chastain
(Actress, Producer – United States)

Fan Bingbing
(Actress, Producer – China)

Agnès Jaoui
(Actress, Screenwriter, Director, Singer – France)

Park Chan-wook
(Director, Screenwriter, Producer – South Korea)

Will Smith
(Actor, Producer, Musician – United States)

Paolo Sorrentino
(Director, Screenwriter – Italy)

Gabriel Yared
(Composer – France)